Long days & short nights

Colby has this really annoying habit. He has the ability to fall asleep at the drop of a hat. If he gets quiet and still, then he is probably going to be asleep in twelve point three seconds. I, on the other hand, take forever to fall asleep, no matter how tired I am. Heck, sometimes I have problems falling asleep because I’m too tired. I will go over my day in my head, worry about my “to do list,” listen for the monsters under the bed, check Facebook, check twitter, blah blah blah until I finally fall asleep.

It drives me crazy. I hate wasting precious time that should be devoted to getting some very needed rest.

Colby doesn’t have that problem. And that drives me crazy as well. If I’m going to be miserable, he should at least be suffering with me right? Okay, so I’m not really that selfish, but it does annoy me when he falls asleep in the middle of a conversation.

Dirty

Last night, we were discussing our days when suddenly he starts snoring. This is totally normal so I think he’s asleep, but then he stops and begins to talk.

“What’s the length of that plot?” Don’t worry about what the plot is. It’s not really important to this post and is farmer blah blah anyway.

“I don’t know. I didn’t plant it.” I avoided the urge to add DUH even though I really wanted to.

“Yes, you did and you measured it too.” This was the point that I realized Colby was totally out of it. I’ve never planted or measured a plot of corn before. It’s not my cup of tea and he takes care of things like that.

“No, I didn’t. You must be thinking of someone else.”

“To hell I am. You measured it today.” Colby was suddenly being quite snotty. And that isn’t his personality at all. If someone in our relationship is being a brat- it’s me. He’s the sweet, mild-mannered one where I am the one with an attitude and a temper. “When are you cutting it?”

Finally, I decided just to play along with him. “They are cutting it on Thursday, I think.” I knew this because he had told me all about it before passing out mid-conversation.

“Well, are you going to be there?!” The snotty voice was back.

This is the point where I really turned on the brat. “No. I have prior commitments. Remember, I’m going to see my boyfriend.” I wanted to know if I could get him good and fired up.

Instead, he began to store. Two seconds later, he mumbled, “I love you.”

And I whispered the words back.

This, my friends, is why one should avoid long days and short nights. Sleep is very important.

5 Comments

Filed under Family, Marla's Ramblings

5 responses to “Long days & short nights

  1. Already like a husband and wife. Haha! 😉

  2. thelumberjackswife

    Happens in these here parts ALL THE TIME! Cute story!

  3. Heather in ND

    Love this!

Leave a Reply

