The greatest gift parents ever give.

I have five younger brothers and sisters. Growing up, I complained about them constantly I never had any privacy, they were always in my stuff, why couldn’t they just go away?!

IMG_7137torres

And really- they were all of those things. My brothers and sisters all deserve an award for master the ability to annoy me. They were great at it.

One time, Shaylin and Clint snuck into my mom and tried to find my box of love notes from my “boyfriend.” When I returned to my room, they hid under the bed and scared me. I was appalled by their lack of respect. Didn’t they know that I was fourteen, an adult, and had very private issues to discuss?

IMG_6756clayashsammandy

My sister Ashley- well, she was the biggest cry baby ever. She also very large ears and was super skinny. For some reason, we decided to call her a monkey. For years, the word was completely banned in our household. No one could say, “Hey, look at that monkey,” without her bursting into tears.

IMG_6969torres

I could go on and on. Believe me, my parents deserve an award.

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve realized that my siblings are a very important reason I am who I am today. They made me more responsible, more understand, and much more patient then I would have been as an only sibling. I know how to share a bathroom, I realize that life isn’t always about me, and I know that I’ll always have someone to turn to.

IMG_6442ayden&mason

Really, my siblings are the best gift that my parents ever gave to me.

To the outside world we all grow old.  But not to brothers and sisters.  We know each other as we always were.  We know each other’s hearts.  We share private family jokes.  We remember family feuds and secrets, family griefs and joys.  We live outside the touch of time.  ~Clara Ortega

My Brothers and Sisters

(Just remind me of that come Christmas, k?)

Do you have a good relationship with your siblings?

13 Comments

Filed under Family, Marla's Ramblings

13 responses to “The greatest gift parents ever give.

  1. God chose not to give me any siblings, but instead He gifted me with other things, like the very deep understanding I have of animals (family pets served as “siblings” for me growing up!) and the ability to be at peace with my own choices, without needing someone else’s approval. (well, except for my mom’s once in awhile! hehe)

    Marla, these portraits are fantastic – the one of the toddlers is one of the most precious I have ever seen!

  2. Great family photo’s Marla..little treasures!

  3. lifewithkaishon

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww. This is such a great post! I wish that for Kaishon. I pray and pray that Gary will say yes to a baby soon! For now though, Juan has moved in with us, so that is good : )
    He has a pretend brother sort of : )

    • Marla

      You need a baby so I can see pictures of it everyday. 🙂

      • I am the oldest of 8. I left home at 17 because I was tired of raising my brothers and sisters while my Mom worked. We grew up on a farm, so I had a lot of work – milking cows, tending sheep, chickens, ducks, pigs, and for one brief summer, geese. I also did all the cooking and most of the cleaning, and we had a 1/2 acre garden. Now, looking back, I appreciate those times and the values and work ethic they taught me. I was the boss and I have gone through my life well, amongst the thorns and dark valleys; I have always come out on top, better and stronger than ever. I gave birth to only one child, but he is the love of my life. At 24 yrs old, he and I are still very close. My brothers and sisters and I are very close now, and the sibling rivalry has faded into memories, private family jokes, and love. As we have gotten older, we have gotten more in common, and this brings us closer together and more appreciative of each other. I look forward to the time when my son marries and gives me a grandchild. I will be ready! My mother has often said, “If I had known how much fun grandkids would be, I would have bypassed having children and gone straight to the grandchildren!”

  4. I love this! No idea you had FIVE younger siblings. That’s nuts! I have one sister who’s older than me and she’s one of my best friends. I wouldn’t trade her for anything. 🙂

  5. Heather in ND

    This might seem like a silly question… but are you guys all blood?? None of you really look THAT much alike, so I just thought I’d ask. (I hope you are not offended :()

    SO cool to have 5 younger siblings though, either way! 🙂

    • Marla

      We are a his, her and mine situation.

      My biological father died when my mom was pregnant with me. She remarried and had my two older sisters. They divorced and she remarried a man with two sons. They had Jamey together. So yes, there is blood relation between most of us. Shaylin and Ashley least alike and they are full siblings. We’ve been raised together for the last fourteen years though, so they are all my siblings 100%.

      Whew. That’s complicated.

  6. Beautiful! My husband has 4 siblings and it’s so great seeing them all together… how close they are. Even though they live miles (and oceans) apart now, they still keep in touch with phone calls and Skype. That’s one of the reasons why we know that we want to have more than 1 child in our own family. 🙂

  7. Haha!

    I totally hear you! I have five siblings as well, and we definitely had our moments. I tell my mom that I still can’t believe she had 6 kids in 10 years… she’s a saint!

  8. Well, I’m definitely on the outs with one of my sisters right now but even with the pain that that brings, I’m glad I have her. You’re right – siblings are a huge aspect of who we are and how we relate to the world.

  9. I have two older brothers whom I love dearly but
    I wish I have my own sister:((

Leave a Reply

