My terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day

Well, I haven’t drowned in my own snot yet. It’s all about the small victories around here, folks.

IMG_6149fair

But I did go to the doctor where I found out I have a respiratory infection and double ear infections.

(Yes, I promise. I am an adult, but I seem to get ear infections all. the. time.)

IMG_5269taylor

Anyway, I got a shot in the backside and sent home with some antibiotics. I should live.

But I started feeling bad for myself. I mean, I’ve got about a million things going on this week and it really isn’t convenient to be sick.

IMG_5980krystal

And then I went to the grocery store and that always puts me in a bad mood. I love to cook, but absolutely hate picking things up at the store. It’s just no fun.

And then I looked at my schedule for the week and fainted. Well, maybe not fainted, but it definitely sent me into a tizzy. I’ve got two tests on Thursday, a photo shoot on Friday, my first dress fitting (two hours away) and a birthday party on Saturday, and another test on Sunday. I’m sleepy thinking about it.

IMG_6087colby&justice

Oh, I’m always sleepy nowdays. I’m pretty much used to that.

Corn harvest is in full swing and things are about to get even crazier around here. Colby is working late tonight and probably tomorrow night and the night after that…

But really, it’s all about perceptive. If I choose to play the woe-is-me game, I will be unhappy. Instead, I’m going to play the I’m-really-blessed-and-super lucky game. Because you know what, I am. Truly.

IMG_4147sambw

Life is good today. I’m not really that sick. I’m not dying. Today, when I went to the grocery store, I had plenty of money to buy groceries. I have the opportunity to go to a great college and better myself. I am very blessed.

And so are you.

These pictures may seem random, but really there is a connection. They all make me smile.

What makes you smile today?

11 Comments

Filed under Marla's Ramblings, Photography

11 responses to “My terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day

  1. Look at you and all your photo shoots : ) Way to go Marla! I was thinking about you today. I passed a pretty cornfield and thought of you. Hope you feel better soon!

  2. You’re right in that it’s all in the perspective. πŸ™‚ Counting blessings always help lift up my mood, too.

    I hope you’ll feel better soon.

  3. Hi Marla. Hope you feel better soon. Love your shots.

  4. Corn harvesting here also…a neverending cycle!Hope you’re feeling better soon…yes we should stop and count our blessings…the simple things made me smile today, and made me grateful for all things small, the start of the day,when hubby bought me a coffee in bed…:)Yvette

  5. Gorgeous photos! You have talent, that’s something to be thankful for, too! Hope you feel better soon – double ear infections – ick! Poor girl!

    (Hopping over from Communal Global at Life with Kaishon – love your blog!)

  6. Way to be Marla! It is SO easy to get down on ourselves and others when we’re stressed and not feeling well, and I commend you heavily for taking the initiative to bring a little sunshine to yourself rather than expecting others and/or your circumstances to do it for you.

    I said a little prayer for you that you get to feeling better – and quick! – and I hope you make it through the week no worse for wear and ready to thoroughly enjoy your dress fitting!

    Blessings,
    Chrissy
    americancowgurl.wordpress.com

  7. Maddy

    I think that’s a great approach! I’m personally a glass half empty kind of girl, but I’m working on changing that πŸ™‚ Hope you feel better!

  8. I am having a terrible day too, i, like you, posted about it too πŸ™‚ But don’t worry — keep keeping on. I love that you found the positive amongst the negative, thats so lovely, just like you πŸ™‚

    Hope tomorrow is better.

    With much love,

    K xx

  9. Perspective is key, isn’t it? Glad you have so many blessings in your life. πŸ™‚

  10. Keep your chin up, Marla! Just remember, Sunday is drawing near…and then you can rest a little. πŸ™‚ Good luck on your tests tomorrow & Sunday!

  11. I was wondering what the connection to the pictures and story were! So glad you answered that one, for I was afraid I was totally missing something πŸ™‚

    And feel better- you have no time to be sick, busy lady!

Leave a Reply

