On Farming

I complain all the time about living in the middle of nowhere, about working seven days a week, and about all the grim on Colby’s clothes at the end of the day… But I really shouldn’t.

I’ve been in the “big city” for a little over twenty-four hours and I’m ready to go home. I don’t exactly belong in a place with street lights or Wal-Marts.

9/365 Ready and Waiting

It’s just not right for me. I need to be out in the open, where I breath fresh air.

Storm coming in

“I had rather be on my farm than be emperor of the world”
– George Washington

IMG_2776tractorbw

Grass

“Agriculture is our wisest pursuit, because it will in the end contribute most to real wealth, good morals, and happiness.”
– Letter from Thomas Jefferson to George Washington (1787)

Dumping

“There seem to be but three ways for a nation to acquire wealth. The first is by war, as the Romans did, in plundering their conquered neighbors. This is robbery. The second by commerce, which is generally cheating. The third by agriculture, the only honest way, wherein man receives a real increase of the seed thrown into the ground, in a kind of continual miracle, wrought by the hand of God in his favor, as a reward for his innocent life and his virtuous industry.”
Benjamin Franklin

1920 or 2009?

Albert

β€œThe farmer has to be an optimist or he wouldn’t still be a farmer.”
– Will Rogers

IMG_2795oldtractor

I go home tomorrow… Thank Goodness.

These boys need me.

My Boys

the long road

10 Comments

Filed under Family, Marla's Ramblings, Photography, The Farm

10 responses to “On Farming

  1. It’s great that you have a life you love. That’s a good thing. πŸ™‚

  2. Beautiful pictures.. and as a former farm girl stuck in the city.. Run! run as fast as you can and get back to that farm… We need more farmers. Again, I think your photos are beautiful.

  3. Marla!
    You have one of my favorite girls’ names, the best blog name ever,
    take incredible photographs, and,
    if that’s not enough,
    I cannot stop looking at your dogs’ sweet face! Seriously. LOVE that face!

    πŸ™‚ so glad I found you!

  4. thelumberjackswife

    It’s always nice to go home πŸ™‚

  5. The country is the only place I feel alive!

  6. I grew up on a dairy farm in Wyoming, so I hear you!

    Love all your farm pictures. They are so gorgeous and iconic!

  7. I grew up on a dairy farm in Wyoming, so I hear you!

    Love the farm pictures, they are so gorgeous and iconic.

  8. Love the BF quote…have to write that one day and then translate for hubby….nothing like open space…I understand fully!

  9. These shots are GORGEOUS! I live in the city and I swear your photos in the country are so much more beautiful.

  10. beautiful photos – I love the moody skies, and that longhorn photos is awesome! I think I would be like you, complain about the farm life and then miss it like crazy when I’m away!

Leave a Reply

