Exercise alternates

I can’t believe it’s Tuesday again. Really, I’ve had one insane week.

And I didn’t do so good on structured exercise. Really, I did a lot of moving around and physical activity, but it wasn’t Jillian Michaels. Instead I did the following:

A.) Shopping. Last week, I was on a business trip with Colby where I needed to waste hours of time. I spent my day browsing Sam’s and Walmart. It wasn’t very fun, but it made me oh so tired… So I’m going to declare that exercise.

Yesterday, Colby and I went into the big city and did lots and lots of walking around the mall, PetsMart, and a furniture store. I’m going to declare that exercise, too.

B.) Walking around the farm. On Sunday, I was once again wasting time while Colby and his brother drove their two big boy mowers around the farm. It took several hours… so I walked in circles down the dirt road.

Several weeks ago, I downloaded a nifty, free application for my Android. Runkeeper manages several different activities (walking, running, cycling, hiking, downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, snowboarding, etc.) and keeps track of where you’ve been, the time of exercise and the estimated calories burned. From what I can tell, this application is also available for the iPhone. I recommend it for those of you who like to track your exercise and have a record of what you’ve achieved.

C.) Wrestling large animals. If all else fails and you still don’t feel like your getting enough exercise, I recommend you buy a large dog and try to get him under control day after day. As your puppy gets bigger and bigger, you will be amazed that you can still pick him up and pull him around.

My baby
(Here’s a picture of yours truly, at the end of a long day. Notice that I’m wearing my nerdy glasses and no make-up. There might also be a missing bra… but that secret will never be reveled)

I’ve heard that the same effect can be applied for small children, although I wouldn’t advise investing in one just for the exercise benefits. A gym membership is much cheeper than a baby.

Last week, I made two simple goals.

1.) Buy a scale so I can track my weight.

2.) Work out at least four times.

I am sad to say that I still haven’t bought a scale… I spent an extended amount of time looking for one in Walmart, but then I remembered that my pretty Wii Fit, which I rarely ever use, has a built in scale. At that point, I stopped searching and declared it a lost cause.

I’m going to go out on a limb and say that I did exercise four times this week… but only if you count my alternate exercises. Otherwise, I completely stunk it up.

For the following week, I’m going to do the following:

1.) Work out at least five times. (Yes, I did just up the ante. I have no idea why and will probably regret it later.)

2.) Sometime today, I’m going to get my happy butt on that scale and see exactly how much I weigh. I haven’t done this in a very long time and it’s making me extremely nervous.

Wish me luck. I think I’m going to need it.

P.S.- Head over here to read more great exercise tips!

4 Comments

Filed under Marla's Ramblings

4 responses to “Exercise alternates

  1. Well, walking anywhere is something and beats the alternative which is sitting so I say count your Walmart walks.

    I weighed myself at the gym not long ago. Shocking. I don’t have a scale at home but periodically weigh in at the gym. I consider it a win if I haven’t gained. Losing would be a bonus for sure. I would like to lose 15 pounds. I would be ecstatic with 10.

    Good luck with your goals!

  2. I could stand to make a few work out goals myself! I’m going to follow your lead and vow to get in 5 exercise sessions in the next week. Thanks for the motivation 🙂

  3. thelumberjackswife

    I think all your things totally counted for exercise-and you made good use of your down time!
    Win, Marla!
    Win!

    And for Pete’s sake . . . put on a bra! 😉
    ha! kidding!

  4. she

    think about the wedding dress and ur good to go..:))

Leave a Reply

