It’s time to fess up

Well, it’s Fat Tuesday again.

First off, I want to make it clear that I am not stressing out about my weight. I’m not going to let my body shape ruin this important time in my life. I don’t want to loose a ton of weight and not fit into my wedding dress. Instead, I want to tone my body and feel better. My ultimate goal is to be healthy…

Last week, I made several goals. Here’s the honest truth… I did not meet my goals last week.

I started out good. Right after I finished my post, I got up and had a little meeting with Jillian Michaels. And then I went to Pizza Hut with Colby and Jamey. Believe me, it all goes down hill from there.

IMG_2082clouds

Of course, I have my excuses. It was a tough week of funerals and horrendous events. (For those who are keeping count, I could have gone to five funerals in the last two weeks where I bawled my eyes out like a little baby.) I was exhausted mentally and emotionally. Plus, I had friends that a rarely ever see invite me out to eat… twice. And I am currently on a business trip with Colby where we have to eat out.

I’m not going to dwell on the excuses though. I’m going to brag about my accomplishments. On Saturday, I went on a decent walk in 90- degree weather with my family at the lake. On Sunday, I swam in the lake for an hour. All week-long, I thought about what foods I was putting into my body and tried to eat because I physically needed it. So often, I eat because I want something emotionally. Really, food is for physical nourishment. It shouldn’t use it to feel happy. I am trying to overcome that.

IMG_2050clouds

This week, my goals are going to be a little easier.

1.) Buy a scale so I can track my weight. I haven’t weighed in four years. I’m starting to think that I’m using that as a crutch. So… this week I will by a scale.

2.) Work out at least four times.

I do have one big win this week… I have taken some really pretty pictures lately and I can’t wait to share them all with you guys! 🙂

Be sure to head over to The Lumberjack’s Wife for more healthy fun.

”BWS

8 Comments

Filed under Marla's Ramblings

8 responses to “It’s time to fess up

  1. These photos are amazing, the clouds look nearly surreal!

  2. thelumberjackswife

    Awesome pictures, as usual. 🙂

    My scale is acting crazy these days. I can’t stand it. I am considering buying a new one. 5 funerals in 2 weeks! Oh, heavens I am so sorry. What a stressful time. Good job on your wins-sounds like you got some good exercising in.

  3. Marla, your photos are breathtaking! Just the medicine my eyes needed today as I sit here in my windowless office.

    And keep on keepin’ on with your goals. You CAN (and will) do it girl! Just a little note for you: one thing that really helped me out was to eliminate the word “try” from my vocabulary. To me, “try” meant that I’d give it a go and hope for the best. But when I say that I “will” accomplish something (or am working on it, or improving at it), it makes me fight harder for what I want.

    Enjoy your business trip with Colby and the chances you’re given to eat out and not have to cook! I am so pleased with all the delicious, healthy items that are popping up on menus everywhere.

    I’m rooting for you! Go after your goals. Reach for the stars. It’s all there for the taking!!!

    Blessings,
    Chrissy @ http://americancowgurl.wordpress.com

  4. Marla, I’m also on a little bit of a diet and exercise increased awareness journey. It’s tough, especially for someone like me who loves to cook. Why prepare 2 courses when I could do 4! The pics are great!. You should go check out this post at Shannon’s place. Specifically the windmill pic and her explanation for me in the comments how she did it. When you get as many good shots as you do, there are many ways to maximize their usage in beautiful ways.

    http://bulletsandbarbedwirebutterflies.blogspot.com/2010/08/standing-on-ceremony.html

  5. Being healthy should always be the goal! Even if you have a rough day or a rough week or a rough month, don’t let it derail you. Keep up the good work, Marla!

  6. These are truly beautiful shots! And keep up the amazing work – you’re quite the inspiration! 🙂

    K xx

  7. Gorgeous pics! Keep trying, you’ll reach your goals!

Leave a Reply

