Done

I am happy to announce that wheat harvest 2010 is finished. Over. Done- forever.

I think the combines might already be clean… and when that is done, they aren’t coming out.

IMG_0090combine

Harvest went on forever this year… Rain kept us from running several times and there was a point I thought we would never be done. Seriously, I was afraid that corn harvest was going to come around before wheat harvest was over.

And that would suck.

IMG_0163combine

Honestly, I’m always excited for harvest to get here… but even more excited for it to be over. It’s a lot of work and I don’t get to spend much time with Colby when he’s working eighteen hours everyday.

IMG_0191combine

But it’s over. There is still work to be done, but I am confident that things are going to slow way down.

We’ve got a vacation to take and lake trips planned.

IMG_0207rachelle

Hopefully, Colby will come home before 12:34 AM and I won’t be reduced to eating every meal on the tailgate of a pickup.

IMG_0227graincart

Because honestly, there is something nice about eating at a table with real silverwear. It makes me feel all fancy.

(I am still loving my Canon 5D Mark II. It’s amazing.)

94 Comments

Filed under Marla's Ramblings, Photography, The Farm

94 responses to “Done

  1. The lighting in these photos is out of this world…I love your new camera/harvest!

    I hope your yields are super, super high this year!

  2. These photos are intense. Love them! Great shots.
    http://www.denwrites.com

  3. Awesome pics! Thanks to all of you farmers who work so hard, keep up the great work!

    p.s.- congrats on being freshly pressed

  4. Great captures on this camera! You can tell that it’s really high-quality with the sharpness of each different object in the picture. ๐Ÿ™‚

    With Love and Gratitude,

    The Intentional Sage

  5. steam

    I think this kind of life only to appear in the film, the original is really “farm life”.
    so beautiful picture.

  6. Nice post, and great pictures. I gotta get a better camera.

  7. Jo Major Ciolino

    Oh god, I’m a transplanted Nebraskan who is absolutely swooning with homesickness after reading this and seeing those tremendous, beautiful pictures. Thank you for making my day!

  8. Great shots … and have a good vacation .. when you get there

  9. There’s nothing as majestic as a combine harvester in action.

    The Codger
    http://thecodger.wordpress.com/

  10. Pam D

    What beautiful photos! What a crazy life… I feel like I should say “thank you” for all of the hard work and sacrifice… I do love my bread and pasta, and without folks like you, I couldn’t have it. :<)

  11. Great shots! Thanks for what you and your family does! Thanks for posting this.

  12. I love your photos. Beautiful light, evoctive images. And you’re keeping us fed!

  13. Sam

    very nice shots. suburbs are always lovely.

  14. ikhwanalim

    seems, you really love your farm & farming activity. expresively in your blogging.

  15. squirrelsloveacorns

    Congradulations! After having lived on a farm (not nearly the size of yours) and growing up in farm country I know how important it is to have a full years crop harvested. Good luck on next season!

  16. srqpix

    Beautiful post. Think I learned something from it. I hope you both enjoy your vacation.

  17. I honestly didn’t pay attention to the actual post itself….but the lighting in the pictures is absolutely amazing!

  18. Very nice photos! Whenever I see such great pics. I want a better camera, sigh!! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!! I hope your crop was great! Thanks for sharing, a different slice of life…

    evelyngarone.com

  19. nice post…
    thanks for share

  20. heatherposey

    Love your photos! Some of my favorite images I have ever taken have been during cotton harvest, so farm pictures have a special place in my heart. Great shots. The lighting/exposure is fab. ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. Beautiful photographs – I just happened upon your blog today when I signed into my dashboard and saw a picture of a combine. I have a weird obsession with combines so I had to come see what you had. Thank you so much for sharing!!!

  22. I love these photos. Just staring at them and letting my mind wander off… Have a nice weekend!

  23. Marla! Those pictures are amazing. You’ve captured the sky just perfectly.

    Congrats on being done with wheat.

  24. rena

    these photos are great!

  25. As much work as it is, from the photos it sure looks like a beautiful way to experience the day instead of from behind my desk. I’m jealous

  26. This is sooo cool to read!! I have a certain fondness for farms and such, thanks in part to the fact I’m employed at a local orchard here in Michigan.

    Even more though… LOVE the photo-journaling! Spectacular colors–and BOY am I jealous of that camera of yours!! (let me know if you happen to have a 50D you no longer need!)

    Thanks for sharing! ๐Ÿ™‚

  27. Having grown up on a grain farm in Saskatchewan, Canada, I have to thank you for dredging up boyhood memories of working on the field. And bringing food out to my Dad on the field. And driving grain truck at age 12. And…well, let’s just say I’m feeling nostalgic. Thank you. Great photos, too.

  28. Absolutely beautiful photographs! I remember chewing wheat from the field by our house as a kid.
    This brought back some nice memories. Thanks!

  29. Rebekah

    Saw this on the front page. These are beautiful photos, and I love your clever blog name! ๐Ÿ™‚

  30. Caron

    Good photos – nice, clear shots …

  31. thelumberjackswife

    Awesome pictures! Look at you! You were on my front page on WordPress!! You are big time now ๐Ÿ™‚

  32. That was a cute read!

  33. Daddy

    The images are amazing. Can you perhaps elaborate on how you capture such evocative images?
    Clearly a DSLR, but what color/grading tool do you run them through for the deep color and portholing?

    • Marla

      The color was just that awesome. We had a little storm rolling in and it was just a really deep blue.

      I ran a Florabella’s Cosmopolitan action at about 10%. That was it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  34. Nice photo.Lighting and shadow is great.I like it.

  35. Pingback: Done (via As the Farm Turns) « Smokemachine123's Blog

  36. health,diet

    I love your photos. Beautiful light, evoctive images. And youโ€™re keeping us fed!
    http://diethealth.weebly.com/eat-fruit1.html

  37. those gloomy skies can really make a great photo

  38. nice shots! i like ’em.

  39. Are oversized engines on oversized fields pointing towards a oversized planet who does not exist?

  40. Very clear shots.I like this photo,it’s art.

  41. Sergio Rocha

    This is what bloggings all about. Love the pictures and seeing a little taste of what life is like in another part of the country.

  42. Greate post and greate shots. What a facinating farm life you have!

  43. Great shots! The lighting looks beautiful.

    Roberto – http://provenremedy.wordpress.com/

  44. Color of photo is great.I like anyphoto.Thank you.

  45. Pingback: Done (via As the Farm Turns) « Old Brush Arbors Weblog

  46. Growing up on a farm in OR I totally know about everything that you’ve taken and written about. Man it makes me miss harvest.

  47. congrats on getting everything out. Ours got pummeled by hail and tornadoes last week… so we’re done too. But… not quite as happy! Love the blog, great photos. ๐Ÿ™‚

  48. These photos are amazing! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  49. These snaps are really nice !! And the text around is also giving some perspective ๐Ÿ™‚

  50. great post, shedding light on the producer’s side!

  51. Great Pics! Mind if I ask what camera did you use in taking these pictures. They look great, either you have a really wonderful camera or it’s your pro photography skill.

  52. Greast photo’s and I can relate to everything you said…what patience we have as farmers wives…have a wonderful vacation and quality time with your man…Yvette

  53. w

    hi. I like your photos. I have the canon 5d and love i too. Also Love seeing life on the farm. Interesting blog!

  54. Nick

    Absolutely fantastic shots, really! I can only imagine the amount of work involved in harvesting your crops so my hat goes of to you for having enough energy to get the camera out and taking those great pictures.

  55. got2havefaith

    The lighting in these photos are beautiful!

  56. Great, GREAT shots! So glad to have discovered your blog- anticipate reading a lot more.
    Here in ND, harvest hasn’t started yet, but it will in another week or two! Let’s hope it’s not like last year- raining kept holding everything and the whole harvest ran together. Wheat, sunflowers, and corn, bang, bang, bang. Were almost combining solid from the beginning of August until Thanksgiving.

  57. Wow! Love those pictures. The other end of the spectrum from our farm. I’ll have to make time to read your blog – looks great!

  58. Thanks for your blog and the beautiful pics – just awesome! I love the country, though I’m suburb born and raised. lived in Iowa for 3 yrs and loved it! Pics reminded me of my boys and I riding a farmer friend’s combine in the Fall. God is good, and the harvest shows it.

  59. What a great tribute to hard work and commitment. Hope you enjoy your rest time. The pictures are beautiful.

  60. mysunnyblueberrynights

    Congratulations!
    Gorgeous pictures!
    Have fun and enjoy the free time!
    =]

  61. That sky is beautiful…

  62. Congratulations! I love your photos!

    Thank you for growing the food that shows up on our tables.

    Jeff Wolfe

  63. Pingback: Done « My Buddy

  64. Pingback: Done (via As the Farm Turns) « Realidad Alternativa

  65. Excellent Series, Great Images!

  66. I love the pictures, they are awesome.

  67. Colin L Beadon

    I forever wonder, how people live in towns where you never see the sun set, or a full moon rise, or a sky filled to the brim with dark rolling clouds,… or stars ?
    There is something pagan, mystical, deeply thrilling and enthralling about the light and the expanses you show, though I’d be lost without trees, and the voices of the birds.

  68. the photos are amazing, and well lit.
    I hope you enjoy your time off. ๐Ÿ™‚

  69. BX

    Beautiful photo.Great shots.

  70. Love the pics! Great post!! KS

  71. These photos are awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Cheers, Niconica
    http://niconica.wordpress.com

  72. Your photographs make farming seem far more enchanting than the city life any day. Beautiful photographs!

  73. sayitinasong

    Such dramatic photos! Beautiful!!!

  74. Thanks to you and your family for all the hard work. I will have bread on my table because of people like y’all.

    I loved the photos and know that you are loving your new camera.

    Hey, if you can’t eat at the table, take the table to him. Next time, take dishes, flatware, real glasses, a table cloth and a small table with fold out chairs to the field.

    Women don’t realize how much men love romance. He will love you for it.

  75. stephanie

    hi there…will my comment be lost in the mountains of people who like your blog?
    i am from zambia and came across your blog thru the ‘off the press” thingy – have to say we love the blog as we are also farming in Zambia —- but really you guys are doing it on an other scale ,we are quite envious….what kind of yields were you talking about this year for your wheat? what else do you grow ??? hope you dont mind all the question and interest !
    thank you
    stephanie and luke

  76. I came across your site last night and I love it. It makes me long for Iowa in the fall when the corn and soybeans are being harvested.

  77. such beautiful photos — and very sweet message!
    i’m a big fan of american farm trust – and some other farming orgs that I’ve given to this year. Hope you have a great, well-deserved lake vacation!! B

  78. Bob

    Nice pictures indeed

  79. Look at you hittin’ the big time!

    AWESOME pictures yet again!

    Enjoy your meals at home! ๐Ÿ™‚

  80. Wonderful photos. The light captured makes them very appealing.

  81. Pingback: But I’m gonna smile. « As the Farm Turns

  82. Maria Elena

    Beautiful!

    Yes, Canon EOS cameras are wonderful! I wish I could go get myself one. I have an SX10 and am very happy with it.

    Have fun vacation!

  83. I love your photos. Beautiful light.

  84. ALI

    Hey,

    Never knew harvest pics could be so awesome and dreamy!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Love the shots and I’m sure you’re proud of it.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  85. You photos are definitely beautiful! I love your page, your blog made me miss Colby, Kansas so much!

  86. Wonderful! You’re photos are truly beautiful. I love the color and clarity of each picture.

  87. Giulia

    i love this pictures. they are so clear..

  88. I am jealous and admire the life you live. Having lived in the city all my life, I have somehow grown to love the country. Thank you for sharing this.

  89. adventuresomeentrepeneur

    The photos were great! I enjoy reading this post!

  90. thans for great sharing

Leave a Reply

