Harvest

Wheat Harvest

The sun is shining in a cloudless sky
Strong winds are blowing hot and dry
The smell of summer is sticky and sweet
Fields are full of ripening wheat
Heads turn golden and then droop low
It’s harvest time and it moves slow
Big combines turn into the fields

IMG_6489combine

Like lumbering giants with spinning reels
They devour all that’s in their path
Then separate the grain from chaff
It’s augered to the bin on top
And when it’s full then they must stop
Another auger slips into gear

IMG_6505combine

And moves the wheat to a truck that’s near
Then while they cut another load
The full truck hurries down the road
To the elevator and drives on scales
Check moisture and wheat with sample pails
Now dump your load with truck bed high
Then hurry back if grain is dry
At supper time a lunch is brought
Sandwiches, fruit, dessert and pop

IMG_6514combine

Then long into the night they cut
‘Til it gets tough with moisture up
This scene is repeated every day
Just work and work, no time for play
‘Til all the grain is safely in
And this year’s pay is in the bin.

By Marjorie Maydew Bell

Poem found here.

(I didn’t write this poem… but it fits harvest so perfectly. Really. This is how it is.)

9 Comments

Filed under Marla's Ramblings, Photography, The Farm

9 responses to “Harvest

  1. Wonderful poem! Harvest is one of my all time favorite times in Oklahoma. We use to have friends that farmed 2000 acres. Helping cook and feed the crew was a highlight of the year for me. I sure do miss that.

    Thanks for posting this!

  2. Well, it’s a beautiful poem. It compliments the photographs perfectly.
    Nicely done!

  3. Occasionally, I miss farming. Reading this post was one of those occasions. Marla, your photography has really jumped to a higher level. Very Nice. You should check this site out. I heard about it over at Brigid’s Home on the Range.

    http://cowgirl-photography.blogspot.com/

  4. Brandy

    I am a new comer, and usually just lurk around a bit before i comment. I LOVE the pics you take, (so do my kids). Great poem by the way.

  5. thelumberjackswife

    Great poem! I think you are made for this farming life šŸ™‚

  6. Hi . I think you visited my blog recently. I have some shots on it of a Aussie harvest. I post farming shots from time to time.

    Thanks for the visit and I’ll keep an eye on your blog.

    Cheers Merv

  7. I’m from a farming region in the south of Sweden but I’ve never lived, nor worked for that matter, on a farm. Your images and this poem makes me want to go back home (I live in Dublin at the moment) and live off the land.
    Thank you for a lovely blog!

Leave a Reply

