Down on the Farm

Life on the farm is quite exciting this time of year. The wheat shoots upward rapidly so fast that I swear you could watch it grow some days. Not to be outdone, the corn is growing at speeds that are equally amazing. Everywhere you look, it appears that there is something green and full of life.

This year, we grew a new crop.

IMG_4842trilicatie

And I use the term “we” very loosely. I really mean Colby and his brother, Travis. They do all the hard work… I’m just the girl in the background, making all the big, important decisions. Really. I’m a valuable part of the operation.

Without me, everything would go to crap. For sure.

Anyway, this year we grew triticale, which is a cross between rye and wheat. It’s a hardy crop that they cut for silage with what looks like a giant lawnmower. Local feedlots have already purchased the crop for cattle feed. In the next week, a silage crew will travel to the farm and began to harvest the crop.

IMG_4878trit

Up until the last month, the triticale has looked and behaved very similar to the winter wheat. It was all planted at the same time and grazed all winter by cattle. Then Spring came and the triticale shot upwards rapidly, completely surprising us all with its quick growth.

As of last Thursday, when these pictures were taken, the triticale was almost six-foot tall. The plant would dwarf me if I was brave enough to actually get out in it, but I’m not because SNAKES! I would probably die of a heart attack right there if one slithered up my leg.

IMG_4855trit

Speaking of snakes- Guess who had a RATTLESNAKE living in the barn behind their house?!? Yep, that would be me, Marla the future farm wife. I think I need a raise in pay or something, because I didn’t sign up for that kinda stuff. Give me something sweet, like baby calves or cute puppies- not man-eating snakes.

IMG_4872trit

Who here thinks I need a raise in pay?

4 Comments

Filed under Marla's Ramblings, The Farm

4 responses to “Down on the Farm

  1. thelumberjackswife

    Great pictures.
    Rattlesnakes??!!!
    No thanks! 🙂

  2. I’ve never heard of triticale before. Sounds like a good money maker though!

    They’re starting harvest around here and oh em goodness my allergies are going HAYWIRE!

    • Marla

      Mine too… and we are still two weeks from harvest. Yuck. I think I just need to take my whole sinus cavity out for a couple of weeks.

  3. No to snakes.

    Yes to the pay raise.

Leave a Reply

