Wonderful weekends

We spent the last weekend at the lake and it was absolutely amazing. The weather was (mostly) nice, the food was great, and I finally got to relax. When you’ve been running around like a crazy for weeks, relaxing with family is absolutely priceless.

IMG_4903boat

My parents recently bought a 1959 trailer house near our local lake. Don’t laugh, it’s actually really nice and beat the hell out of a tent. This weekend, nine people slept comfortably in our “lake house” and where we were able to cook food out of a real live oven and take showers while soaking up the AC. It was awesome.

IMG_4943ash&lacey

See, I’ve never been a huge fan of camping. I like being outdoors and all, but I have the fear of going to sleep dirty. I hate sleeping in a tent, because there is no way to keep your feet clean. It’s impossible. The lake house allows me to keep my feet clean.

Next time Colby and I go to the lake, I promise to bring back picture that showcase our fancy digs. Let’s just say that our trailer is known as the “Patsy Cline” in the trailer park. I suddenly feel like I’m living up to every redneck Okie stereotype in the book.

IMG_4954clay&j

The lake water was still much too cold, but the younger individuals in our group were brave enough to get into the water. I’m pretty sure that the water gets colder the older you get because every time I stuck my little toe into the water I felt like I was going to freeze to death. Jamey, on the other hand, didn’t seem to mind.

IMG_4921jamey

Sammmy liked the lake, but hated his life jacket. His first boat ride was a success when he drifted off to sleep in the first five minutes. It’s hard being five months old, folks.

IMG_4929sam

My siblings did a little bit of skiing and Ashley taught her friend Lacey to ski. She did amazingly well for her first time.

IMG_4975ashskiing

IMG_5000laceycrash

All in all, it was a fabulous weekend and incredibly peaceful. Well, it was until this dude showed up:

IMG_5031snake

Bonus points to whoever can tell me what kind of snake this was. He was super fast, about five foot long, and lives in the desert of New Mexico. Obviously, there was no way I was getting in the water with that dude. Not only was it cold and dirty, but it was also infested with freaky snakes.

Now be honest, would you have gotten into that water?!?

7 Comments

Filed under Family, Marla's Ramblings

7 responses to “Wonderful weekends

  1. Oh my gosh. Freaking out about the snake. That water is SO pretty. I want to jump in! Even though it is freezing : )

    I am glad you had fun!

  2. ahhh!! snake!!

    but sammy’s life jacket is pretty darn cute- that face is priceless!!

  3. I love going to the lake, but have seen too many snakes and alligators having lived in Florida to trust what is in the water!! It sounds like you had a great weekend!

  4. thelumberjackswife

    Dude! There is a SNAKE in the water! Move away! Move far, far away!!

  5. Wow! That looks like so much fun – I miss waterskiing.

    And? That look on Sammy’s face is priceless, like ‘Get this damn thing off me, you beeyotch!’. Love it.

    Gah. Snake!
    http://www.warsawmommy.com/?p=1172

  6. “Swims with snakes” is NOT a title that I want. Ack!

    Other than that, it looks like a great time.

Leave a Reply

