Workout Wednesday

My dog is lazy. Every morning, I have to pull him out of his crate and haul him outside, even though he’s been sleeping for over ten hours. Sometimes he collapses to the ground outside, too tired to go to the bathroom. I then bring him into the house where he plops down onto his bed falling back into a deep slumbor.

Justice obviously has a hard life, right? I know, you all feel so very bad for him. I do, too. It must be hard to live such an active lifestyle.

IMG_4703justice

Here’s the thing- I want to be like Justice. I want to lay in bed all day, only moving from time to time when I needed to eat or go to the bathroom. It would be a joyous existence.

But I would get HUGE. Personally, I don’t want to gain a million pounds, so I decided to start working out. I used to love track and cross-country. I would run and run and run. It made me feel great.

Then I went to college and quite exercising. Last year, I walked a half mile to class everyday, but that was really the only exercise I’ve had in years. I’ve gotten out of shape, big time. Now it’s time to change that and I’ve started the Couch-to 5K running plan. (Thank you Kenzie for introducing me to the workout.) It’s a nine week program that starts slow but eventually gets you up to running a full 5K. If you want to get active again, I highly recommend this plan.

My goal is to finish this program and then move on to a half marathon plan. Next April, I hope to run in the Oklahoma City Memorial Half Marathon with my old track coach. I have dreams, folks.

What’s your take on working out? Do you feel bad for my puppy?

4 Comments

Filed under Farm Pets, Marla's Ramblings

4 responses to “Workout Wednesday

  1. When we let our pups out of the crate in the morning, they go outside with CJ and then they get into our bed where they will sleep, under the blankets, until around noon or so. L.A.Z.Y. So it never gets better, I’m afraid!

    CJ & I are actually starting the Couch to 5K this summer after we move! I can’t wait! Good luck!!! I don’t think there’s any way I could ever do a half marathon–I’m just not a runner. It’s all for the health of my heart & lungs, haha!

  2. thelumberjackswife

    When I do work out, I feel great. The motivation to actually work out is hard for me to find.
    So . . . it rarely happens.

  3. Yeah. Let me know how that works out for you please. Because that’s the closest I’m going to come to experiencing it. 😉

  4. I’ve been away a bit and oh my has he gotten big.

Leave a Reply

