I am SO glad they were all wrong…

(Oh gosh. I can’t believe I forgot to publish this on Friday. Oops.)

During my Senior year of high school, I had multiple people tell me: “Enjoy this year; it will be the best one of your life.” I’m not going to lie. I was freaked out by the idea. Honestly, my Senior year sucked. It was plagued by back-stabbing friends and small town drama. I fought with the school board and administration of my school several times. My poor mother was treated with a lawsuit. It was horrible and something I defiantly didn’t want to relive. AND I WAS PROM QUEEN. I doubt I realize some of the atrocities that take place in high schools our country. I’m sure I probably lucked out in the big scope of it all.

Anyway, back to the post, I realize that the older individuals that told me this were probably dreaming of their youth… Days when they had the freedom of an eighteen year old, but still the security of living in your parents’ house. The glories days of when they could enjoy a night out on the town without worrying about who was paying bills. Heck, they probably looked back fondly at high school because their hips didn’t hurt every time they moved. Maybe they were the stud of the basketball team and felt like they ruled to town at seventeen.

Honestly though, the concept still doesn’t make much sense to me. I’m twenty-one years old, have lived on my own for three years, and am happy to report that each year of my life gets better. I wouldn’t go back to high school for a million dollars. Even more, I believe I’ll look back at this post three years from now and say the same thing about being twenty-one. Life just keeps getting better for me.

Every year I seem to get wiser and more relaxed. Petty drama rarely bothers me anymore. I have finally mastered the art of letting it all roll of my back. When my little sister gets too caught up in the drama of her Senior year, I usually laugh and tell her not to worry about it all. It’s funny though- looking back, all those things seemed so important, but in reality only the things that I have achieved since high school seem significant now.

1991
(Shaylin, Ashley, & Me.)

Two of my sisters, Shaylin and Ashley, graduated on Friday. Because I am the wise, older sister I would like to give them a bit of advice:

  • Life is not fair. I know Mom and Dad have been telling you this for years, but it’s totally true.
  • Work your butts of in college, but don’t let it stress you out too much.
  • Don’t get too caught up in planning you life. You never know what God has in store for you.
  • Never buy a college textbook at the bookstore. Shop around first. Chances are, you can likely find in MUCH cheaper online.
  • Value your relationships. Treat everyone around you with respect.
  • Be above petty drama. If it won’t matter tomorrow, don’t let it ruin today.
  • Surround yourself with positive, happy people. Your friends should not bring you down.
  • Make new friends. Socialize with those outside your comfort zone.
  • Watch your roommates. If your luck is anything like mine, you’re going to have some hard times in that department.
  • Manage your money. Don’t get a credit card. Save, but don’t be afraid to spend every once in a while.
  • Just drink water. That is honestly the best way to avoid the freshmen fifteen.

I’m sure I could go on and on, but I’ll stop there.

Do you have any advice for recent high school graduates? Do you like back on your teen years foundly?

8 Comments

Filed under Family, Marla's Ramblings

8 responses to “I am SO glad they were all wrong…

  1. Sisters, if you are reading this, I can only say WHAT SHE SAID! Really. This advice is dead on and so so so true. Remember it, treasure it, follow it.

    Every year really does get better, doesn’t it?

  2. After reading your advice list, I think you are wise beyond your years.

  3. I think your list is quite complete. Also, I try to block my senior year as much as possible so I’m not sure I’m any help.

    Oh! Except this:

    -If you have to trick/convince a boy to date you, move on. Don’t invest in a relationship with any boy who isn’t dying to be with you.

  4. This was great advice!
    Don’t you think that when we look back on things we remember mostly the good parts and forget about all the bad things? I mostly do : )
    LOVED the picture.

  5. I loved high school. Love, love, love, LOVED it. I’m totally the person who will be looking back on grade 12 as the glory year, but I loved it at the time, not just in some form of nostalgia.

    To add to your list:
    – Open your door in residence, especially the first few weeks. Don’t always sit behind a closed door; it makes it hard to meet people.
    – Write letters to friends or family. Sure, e-mail, phone and texting is faster, but actually receiving mail is thing that can brighten a day.
    – Join something. A club, a team, a group, a rally, a protest…the sense of community is huge, and feels great.
    – If you’re having trouble with a class, talk to a prof BEFORE exams. Office hours are there for a reason, and profs respect someone who says they’re struggling and asks for help more than someone who cries when the exam marks show up.

    That’s all I can think of for now. 🙂

  6. thelumberjackswife

    Your list is great! It seems like I was just in college, but I am old now! I have been graduated from college for 7 years!!! That’s insane!
    Time goes fast . . .

Leave a Reply

