I’m a corn widow!

And I’m not even married yet!

Last Sunday, Colby began to work on this:

IMG_3713colby

You may be wondering what exactly that is. Well, it’s a planter and it is responsible for putting corn seeds two inches below the soil.

And no, I did not have to ask- I remember that all from last year. I’m going to be a good farm wife one day… just as soon as I get used to spending all my time alone.

IMG_3726colby

See, Colby and his brother Travis have been working around the clock. He came home at midnight last night, sleepily ate the delicious bowl of cereal I prepared for him, and passed out. He was gone shortly after eight this morning.

That a lot of hours for a girl to spend all alone… especially when she’s trying to write a term paper over Karl Marx. I think I might lose it soon and go completely wacko.

IMG_3757tractor

It’s probably a good thing I have the puppy… because at least he acknowledges me when I talk to him. Cricket, on the other hand, just runs in the opposite direction when I start ranting about Marx’s economic theories.

Some people animals just don’t understand.

Of course, if I ever finish this paper that might be what I do if anyone happens to brings it up again- RUN.

IMG_3699colby&justice

Don’t worry- I’m not going to update my blog without at least one new picture of my little Justice. Except he isn’t so little. I was only gone three days this week, but he seems way heavier than normal. I really need to start training him to a leach or we are going to have serious problems around here.

I’m suddenly imagining myself carrying a 100 pound dog around. Wouldn’t that be a sight!

9 Comments

Filed under Farm Pets, Marla's Ramblings, Photography, The Farm

9 responses to “I’m a corn widow!

  1. I finished my term paper that was due at 8am this morning around midnight last night, then drafted the endnotes & bibliography this morning at 6.45. I like to think that I work best under pressure, and I’m sure you do, too! 😉

    Your puppy is just like…the goofiest kind of cute. He looks so soft & cuddly and I can just imagine how he runs with those giant paws! (That’s where the goofy part comes in, haha!)

    • Marla

      I hope so… The horrible thing is, I only have two pages left! But I have NOTHING to say. 🙂

      He’s just about as graceful as he looks. He trips all the time. It’s adorable.

  2. Thank you for the pictures and the corn. GR and I had some corn last night for dinner that was incredible!

  3. I hope that the season isn’t too long…I can’t imagine the farming life! My husband is finishing up his dissertation, though, and so…I’m a dissertation widow. haha

  4. oh man is that doggie cute or what!?

    PS, great shots of the tractors 🙂

  5. I remember those long hours on the farm well. When the 1st cutting of alfalfa would come off, for about a month you never slept more than a couple hours each day. After a few days you just drop into this dulled senses/farmerzombie mode. I don’t miss that part. About that leash thing,,,,,as big as that pup is going to get, you might be better off buying a pony halter. Ha Ha.

  6. Hee! Better than being a sports widow 😉

  7. Amy

    Oh my goodness, your puppy is so adorable.

    Good luck with being a corn widow. I get to be a four-wheeler widow every now and then. 🙂

Leave a Reply

