From the deep depths of my computer memory…

Michelle, who is also known as Warsaw Mommy, writes a fabulous blog about raising two adorable, little boys in Poland. She deals with the normal parenting gig while struggling to understand the culture and language of the Polish. I don’t do foreign languages and find the entire thing completely baffling, but I think she is doing a wonderful job. I wholeheartedly recommend her blog. ‘Tis a good read.

Anyway, Michelle recently tagged me in a photography meme. The rules are simple:

1. Open your first (oldest) photo folder in your computer library
2. Scroll to the 10th photo
3. Post the photo and the story behind it
4. Tag 5 or more people to continue the thread.

I've come a long way.

I took this picture last June. It’s my little sister, Jamey enjoying a normal summer afternoon. It was actually one of the very first I took the day my shiny, new Canon arrived on my parent’s doorstep. I had called in sick for work that morning due to horrible allergies and was super excited when the camera arrived. Getting paid for playing with my brand new toy was awesome.

I really can’t believe how bad this picture really is. At the time, I was so proud. The water and action is nice, but the exposure and lighting are all wrong. I guess I’ve actually came a long way with this photography stuff.

Last summer, I worked for the USDA. I was in charge of maintaining facilities and keeping parks clean. It wasn’t a glamorous job and consisted of a lot of mowing and cleaning toilets. A couple of months ago, Colby and I decided that it would be better for me to remain unemployed this summer while I’m taking summer classes. I dreamed of lazy days with a little bit of school thrown in.

Well, I was wrong. At this point, I will be doing all of the following:

  • Summer online classes.
  • Watching Jamey throughout the month of June while my mom works.
  • Probably watching Samuel every other day because his baby-sitter is unreliable.
  • Potty training a puppy.
  • Working for another government company for two weeks during June.
  • Cooking lunch for a large harvest crew.
  • Growing my photography business.
  • Planning a wedding.
  • Checking 60 very pregnant cows when the farmers are too busy.
  • Landscaping our five acre yard… This includes keeping ten newly planted trees alive and lots of mowing.

Does anyone else think I should have decided to get a full-time job? Yikes. This seems like about eighty hours a week of work.

I’m not going to tag five people, but feel free to join it. It’s a fun meme. Totally painless, I promise.

Thanks for visiting.

2 Comments

Filed under Domestic Life, Marla's Ramblings

2 responses to “From the deep depths of my computer memory…

  1. thelumberjackswife

    Fun idea! You do sound busy! Cute picture. 🙂

  2. Aw…. look at that huge smile. Also? Look at how far you’ve come in taking photos 😉

Leave a Reply

