Clinging to the happy things…

It’s Monday. I hate Mondays, especially after fabulous holiday weekends that fly by way too fast. Right now, school is kicking my butt. I’m feel like I’m waging a battle against Karl Marx and his entire economic theory. Tests are rapidly approaching and I feel totally unprepared.

But I’m not going to talk about any of that today… I’m going to cling to the happy things. The things that make this windy Monday look not so bad.

1.) Scholarships. I was awarded $1000 by the Political Science at my university last week. We probably shouldn’t tell them that all I want to do with my degree is to take pictures. Free money is always nice though.

2.) Family- both the kind your marry into and the one’s you’ve been stuck with forever.

Jackson

Especially, the ridiculous beautiful kind that pose like models for me. Don’t tell Colby, but I’m considering ditching him for Jackson in about eighteen years. Seriously, Colby’s family has really welcomed me into the bunch and always makes me feel so comfortable. I appreciate that.

3.) Photography.

Krysta

Isn’t Krysta here too pretty? We took her Senior pictures on Saturday afternoon and they turned out great despite the crazy Oklahoma wind that tried to ruin our day.

4.) Sammy’s smiles.

Happy Baby

I held him through church yesterday and he made the funniest grunting noises the entire time. It was adorable.

5.) Sunsets.
One last time...

How can anyone argue deny that there is a God when they look at this? It absolutely takes my breath away.

6.) This little punk.

J Bird

In church yesterday, Jamey jumped up during communion and yelled to my mom- “I want a piece of bread right now!” When she went through the line, she grabbed a giant chunk and slowly ate it for the next five minutes. I wish I could be more like her, because that bread is yummy.

7.) Colby.

My Farmer

He’s my best friend and soul mate. I won’t deny that Colby completely spoils me. Last week, I decided that I really needed a puppy. We had already decided that we would get one after I finished school, but the stars aligned and I found the perfect one now. He agreed that I totally needed one and in two weeks I will have a perfect Bullmastiff puppy.

(And Cricket is absolutely excited about getting a baby brother. Just ask her.)

What are three things that are making you happy right now?

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Marla's Ramblings, Photography

3 responses to “Clinging to the happy things…

  1. Reading this post because it’s infectious, in a good way.

  2. thelumberjackswife

    Cute pictures! Looks like you had a fab weekend.
    Guess what!?
    We have the same blog theme!
    Cause we’re cool like that!

  3. my husband. the possibility of moving back home this summer (i get so elated thinking about this!!!!!). and the weather, windy as all get out- but the sun is shining and my 2yr old crazies get to be outside all afternoon!!

Leave a Reply

