Don’t tell Colby…

But I’m actually getting excited about this:

smtractor012

It’s just about time to plow and plant corn. I’m actually ready for it this year. Last year, I viewed it as something to take Colby’s attention off spoiling me. Farming takes a lot of time and I miss him when he works for very long hours.

But it is also refreshing. There is just something so cool about getting out there and working the dirt. Colby puts so much effort into the farm and it is so very rewarding to watch a new crop pop up.

And it smells good out there… It’s a mixture of dirt, moisture, and fresh air that smells amazing.

smtractor&colby032

In the next two months, the wheat crop is going to shoot up. Right now, it is barely inches tall. By June, it will be over my head. Isn’t that wild?!

Don’t worry. I will be documenting the wheat’s growth. Believe me, you will be impressed.

smcolby054

I’m also really looking forward to getting out to the farm and watching the sunset. Sprinklers drive me absolutely crazy and always break when we have plans, but there is something so magical about watching a sunset from a sprinkler.

I might be loosing my mind, but I think I’m actually ready for the farming season. Please remind me of this when I’m whining three weeks in about missing Colby.

Are you guys half as excited about watching the wheat crop grow as I am? I promise, you will get to see LOTS of pictures here.

7 Comments

Filed under Marla's Ramblings, Photography, The Farm

7 responses to “Don’t tell Colby…

  1. We planted winter wheat last fall about the time we harvested our soybeans. It’s been grand seein’ green poke up through the baron earth all winter.

    I just wanted to pop in and thank you for visitin’ with your sweet comment.

    Have a great day!!!

  2. I love the winter wheat in SW Oklahoma. A much needed pop of color in the drabbest season of them all! Looking forward to the photos!

  3. Fresh plowed earth and sagebrush after a rain…OMG nothing better.

  4. I love the smell of farms. There is something so comforting and delicious about it!

  5. First of all, LOVE these photos. Especially the 3rd – I think landscapes are your forte.
    Second…I’m so jealous! I would love to be able to experience farming first hand. I’m sure you’ll make it beautiful!

  6. Love your pictures 🙂

Leave a Reply

