Our Wedding Budget

Colby and I are paying for our wedding ourselves. We have decided on a very strict wedding budget of $10,000. That’s a lot of money to us, but I was surprised to learn that the average wedding in the United States is $20,000. Isn’t that insane?!

We are lucky to be having our wedding in our tiny hometown. Of course, this has caused a few difficulties because of limitations in venues, etc. but overall it has allowed us to spend much less than we would in a big city.

At this point, almost half of our budget will be going to photography and catering. I didn’t want to cut costs when it came to photography. I’m very picky about pictures. Yesterday, I decided on a photographer and we will be sending out the deposit on Monday. For $1915 we will have two fabulous photographers taking pictures for eight hours. I feel very confident that our photographer will do an amazing job.

We will be serving our 250 guests a full meal of chicken fried steak, mashed potatoes and gravy, green beans, salad, and fresh rolls. I was extremely happy to learn that a local caterer will serve all that food for only $10 a plate. I know a girl in Oklahoma City that is paying $10 a plate for cold cut sandwiches. We are getting a full, delicious, homemade meal for the same price. Awesome.

Our church is only going to charge us a $40 cleaning fee. The OKC girl is paying $1600 for a church! Can you imagine? I can’t.

We won’t be hiring a limo service, mostly because the nearest one is located two hours away. They would charge an arm and a leg to travel here to drive us around. I feel like that would be a total and complete waste of money. I might get my pickup detailed right before the wedding though.

My love

Right now, I am confident that we will be coming in under budget. Things might change and their could be unexpected expenses, but right now I’m pretty sure we are going to make it.

I welcome any advice on sticking to my budget. Do you guys know of any unexpected costs that I should watch out for? Where did you spend most of your wedding budget?

9 Comments

Filed under Marla's Ramblings, The Wedding

9 responses to “Our Wedding Budget

  1. Our biggest thing was the reception… for obvious reasons. Everything included in it was costly- food and drink the biggies!

    Other things were flowers (we had someone do a centerpiece for half our tables and the other half we did cheaper) and DJ.

    Flowers you can do cheap if you use inexpensive flowers, and shopping at a market as opposed to a florist. It was December, so that was out of the question for us. My cousin tied 3 white roses together with a ribbon for the bridesmaids, it was simple and beautiful.

    I don’t know how to get around the DJ. It is nice to have someone microphone entrances and such. Plus, I’d hate to make my playlist on a ipod and know what song is next, I’d want to be in the moment.

    Invites and paper products! Ugh! I had mine done at a printing shop and they were awesome!! We paid more to have them cut the paper, but for my brothers we just had them print and we cut them all. That helps, I am sure. We got the folder style invites that look really expensive, but ended up being cheaper then would have otherwise we got the folders from here: https://www.textstyledesigns.com/

    Also, we nixed the favors for or guests. Food, drink, and a good time… right? 🙂 Plus many people just leave them anyway! You could always set out mints or little candies for after dinner stuff, but I wouldn’t waste time putting kisses into a little box to take home or anything like that. You’ll have better things to do, and better places to spend your money 🙂

  2. Sounds like you are super on top of it! You’re definitely lucky to be in a small town – we got married in Knoxville, TN, (which isn’t even THAT big) and our photographer was closer to $6k! But he was amazing, and so worth it.

    You may already have a reception site figured out, but if not, having part of the wedding outside can save you tons on flowers/decorations. The only flowers we had to get were for individuals!

    Check out vistaprint.com for inexpensive paper goods too 🙂

  3. I can’t believe anyone having to pay $1600 to get married in a church. That’s shocking!

    We basically just made a list of everything that was really important to us – much like you’ve already done with the photographers.

    If I had to do it again I probably wouldn’t spend so much on flowers. I really loved them but at then end of the day I was too busy to notice them much.
    Same with things like orders of service etc.

    It just depends what is important to you.

  4. We had a garden wedding in the Babe’s parents back yard. It was beautiful. No church expense. No big flower expense. Lots of family nearby so everybody stayed with friends and relatives. We got the reception room donated from a friend at a local restaurant. Plus both our parents kicked in big. We were both broke college kids. Ours was a weekend long celebration that is still being talked about fondly almost 30 years later. BTW, you two lovebirds look so happy in that pic.

  5. I can’t be of much help on this what with my wedding being 20 years ago. I do know that I was sure that I didn’t want pink napkins, or any variation of pink and it that rained HARD the day we got married, which, I’m told is good luck.

  6. Wow – $10,000 sounds like a lot to me (that’s about 30,000 Polish zloty) but when I consider that in the US, brides-to-be spend thousands just on the dress, I think y’all are fiscally astounding!

    I can’t offer any advice as I was married in Poland, but a few hidden costs I do remember sneaking up on us were the cost of decorating the reception hall (flowers, candles, fairy lights) and tips for the wait staff who were flawless and fun and really professional. We gave them a massive cash tip at the end of the party. Besides that, we did very well, so I know a wedding doesn’t have to bust the bank!

  7. Sounds divine!!!! Some of the best weddings I’ve been to are the ones that weren’t totally fancy and super expensive. Our own wedding cost under $5000 (11 years ago) and it was truly the best day of my life.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    You and your fiance are adorable!

  8. I think that is great : ) How fun! How super that you are still doing lots of special things that are not as expensive. Definitely get your truck detailed. Wedding photography is very important. I am glad you found someone you like!

  9. monkeetrouble7

    We planned our wedding on a budget of $9000! We planned it in 3 months and had a blast. Our biggest expense was the venue and photographer. We made our own invitations, favors, and my aunt made our cake.
    Do research online before buying something. You might be able to find it cheaper somewhere else.

    Happy Planning!

    http://www.monkeetrouble7.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

