Black Mesa

Today, I spent the day hiking to the highest point in Oklahoma- Black Mesa. Two of my best friends from high school, Krystal and Krisa, made the 8.4 mile walk with me. It was probably the most exercise I’ve gotten since graduating from high school and I am worn out tonight.

We took my Mom’s dad, Jake Henry, with us. She’s been gone for Spring Break, so Jake has been getting very lonely at home.

smIMG_0573jake

Jake is a crazy dog. He’s a total spaz and I’ve never before seen him actually get tired. By the end of the hike, he was definitely tired and actually laid down on the trail for a few minutes.

Krisa brought her new puppy, Benny. He was a real trooper and toughed it out until the very end. He was totally pooped by the end of the day though.

smIMG_0596benny

It was a beautiful day. The weather was in the low 70’s and the sun was shining brightly. I actually got a pretty good sunburn on my arms.

smIMG_0605viewfromblackmesa

Tomorrow it’s supposed to snow. Again. That’s one thing you can rely on in the Oklahoma panhandle. If you don’t like the weather, wait a couple of hours and it will change.

Thank you for visiting my blog today. I truly appreciate every single person who stops by. Leave a comment and I’ll be sure to visit your space.

3 Comments

Filed under Farm Pets, Marla's Ramblings

3 responses to “Black Mesa

  1. The weather lately has been nuts! I had dinner on a patio today. In March. IN CANADA.

    And we’ve seen snow well into April, sometimes May before. So this, for me? Stunning.

  2. Those early spring hikes are always a welcome change from the snow or rain. Lovely dogs both of them.

  3. Jen

    Hiking in the sunshine is the best way to spend a day. The dogs are adorable, the black lab looks so much like our Molly.

    Now that you’ve walked 8.4 miles, maybe you’ll consider 60? The 3-Day breast cancer walk is in November and I know you could do it!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

