My Dream Job

I actually have a dream job in my mind… It’s nothing that I ever imagined in high school. It doesn’t involve an advanced education or a fancy outfit. I just want to be a photographer. Isn’t it funny how life works out in ways that you never imagined?

smashsenior379

I know I will never have a big-time, multi-million dollar career taking pictures. I’m not going to be world-famous. Honestly though, I don’t mind. Photography makes me happy. I love being creative and capturing the little moments.

smashsenior608

Yesterday, I started my very own photography fan page on facebook. I sent requests to all my local friends and was impressed by the support I received from the community. Right now, I only take pictures for free, but I plan on actually charging in 2011. After I graduate, I’m going to really throw myself into photography, learning absolutely everything I can and slowly building up a client base.

smashsenior259

I love Photography. There are so many great things are it that just make me smile. Plus, I’ll be making my own hours which means I can be flexible with Colby’s crazy hours in the summer and relax with him in the winter. In a few years, we hope to start a family and I will be able to stay home and take care of our babies. Doesn’t it sound glorious?

smashsenior567

Of course, life may throw me another curve-ball. I don’t know what my future hold in store for Colby and I, but I know we will go through it together. I love having a real plan and some future goals for myself. Let’s hope that it all works out.

smashsenior232

(These are my sister’s Senior pictures that I took way back in September. What do you think?)

12 Comments

Filed under Family, Marla's Ramblings, Photography

12 responses to “My Dream Job

  1. I think you’re great and I think it is a fantastic idea!!! You’ll get a lot of great support! I mean, you’ve been looking at the cost of wedding photographers, right?! Good grief!! ….and Good Luck!!

    • Marla

      Haha. Yeah. I’m pretty sure we are going to pay $2000+ for our wedding pics… but I want to make sure we get the best.

      Thanks, Kenzie. πŸ™‚

  2. Hi Marla! Thanks for the comment πŸ™‚ Your blog is too cute and I have to say that you hooked me from the first post that I read! You exude the passion that you seem to feel for photography and I admire your dedication to it for the self-satisfaction aspect of it, not a big paycheck (I’m an English major– I know all about doing things for the passion, not the paycheck!). Keep snapping those pictures– you have a knack for it!!

  3. Found you through Kelly’s Korner. πŸ™‚

    These are really wonderful! Especially for a self-professed amateur! I hope you keep it up–you can only get better and better!

    PS: My mom’s name is Marla! Pretty unique name!

  4. I’ve ALWAYS wanted to be a photographer!! Too bad nice camera are soo expensive!

    You did a beautiful job on your sisters pictures. No wonder you got alot of support! πŸ™‚

  5. What I think is that…… Dreams, are maps to happiness. But when you are all famous and rich, I still want to read your blog every day for free.

  6. Thanks for stopping by my blog! Great photos on here!

  7. Photography is so much fun, isn’t it? Your pictures are great – you can see your passion shining through them, and that’s always the trick to fabulous pictures (in my opinion!).
    If you haven’t already, you should check out Sesame Ellis (http://www.racheldevine.com/blog/). I don’t know what kind of pictures you want to focus on, but her kids shots are out of this world!

  8. Great pictures! I think my dream job is with National Geographic. Paid vacations to take photographs and write articles. I think I could handle that!

Leave a Reply

