Me & You

I have always been an overachiever with great hopes and dreams. In high school, my life revolved around perfect grades, lots of friends, and a full social calendar. I was going to be a lawyer or a doctor… I was going to leave my hometown for good, vowing to only return for the essential holidays.

I left for college. I was still getting great grades and enjoying school, but something seemed different. I had an overwhelming urge to get closer to home, to be within driving distance incase my family needed me. But I stayed in the big city, refusing to give up.
sm218marla&colby
Time pasted. My best friend from high school somehow convinced me to go on a blind date with an older boy from our hometown. She said that he was nice, smart, and kinda goofy like me. Before long, I found myself head over heals in love with this man.

I wanted to be with him, but I was also torn. What would I do about a career? My major would be close to useless in my hometown for anything other than a $20,000 a year job as a secretary. I really had no idea what to do. It’s not as if he could move; farms tend to be stuck in one place.
sm220mar&colby
Over time, Colby and I have come to an agreement. I’m going to finish college and marry him with no real career plan in place. I have a few ideas, but nothing guaranteed at this point. Come December, I may be nothing more professionally than a glorified farm hand with a college degree, but I know that everything will be perfect…

sm273colby&marla
Because I will be marrying the man that I love.

10 Comments

Filed under Marla's Ramblings, The Wedding

10 responses to “Me & You

  1. How sweet! I got teary at the end:)

  2. That is about as sweet as a little blog post can get.

    p.s. Dear Colby, out here in Arizona and also on the farm in Idaho, it’s called a big shade hat, and chapstick. 🙂

  3. Amy

    Marla, I completely sympathize! Right now, I’m majoring in English and I love it, but I have no idea what kind of a career I want. Congrats on getting a great guy who supports you; I’ll be praying for you and your career search! 🙂

  4. Awww that’s so sweet! You guys will be stupidly happy too!

  5. This was so sweet! Thanks so much for commenting on my blog. How can i subscribe to you without getting notifications via email?

  6. Hey, wanted to stop by your blog. Thanks for the comment. I love how much you love your guy:) You’ll be happy, even if you live in Tinbucktoo!!

  7. Pingback: My Dream Job « As the Farm Turns

  8. Stephanie J

    This was a very, very sweet post, but I couldn’t help but chuckle at the last line, “I will be marring the man that I love.” I think you meant to say, “I will be marrying the man that I love.” 🙂

    Marring
    1 : to detract from the perfection or wholeness of : spoil
    2 : to inflict serious bodily harm on: destroy

Leave a Reply

