A Day at Grandma’s

I’ve been thinking about my grandma a lot lately.

She passed away last March. In the summer of 2007 she was diagnosed with lung cancer. She went into remission for a while, but the cancer returned and spread to her brain. It was horrible.

gma 1995

Did I mention that she never smoked a day in her life? She lived on a farm, worked outside everyday, and never ate prepared or fast food. She should have been the picture of health, but she got cancer anyway.

I hate cancer.

She was also a very sweet women who was extremely laid back. Spending a day at Grandma’s was like one big party. My older four siblings and I would often visit and absolutely destroy her house.

mar&clay dec 1999

When we weren’t helping her feed her chickens or checking on sick cows, we would play games and dress up. She would always let us help her cook. She even taught us all to use her sewing machine.

Needless to say, she had tons of patience- more patience then I will ever have. Can you imagine having five children roughing in your house all day long?

clay & clint dec 1999

After she died, I spent hours going through the hundreds of pictures she had taken throughout the years, scanning the best ones. We laughed over old memories. This series of pictures cracks me up. You can tell we were having a blast.

According to my aunt, this was the day that Clay actually knocked the Christmas tree over. I can’t imagine how that would have happened.

mar&clint dec 1999

These pictures were taken in December of 1999, six months before Colby’s high school graduation. I was in the fifth grade! I love reminding him of the fact that he is practically a cradle robber.

2 Comments

Filed under Marla's Ramblings

2 responses to “A Day at Grandma’s

  1. Peace Grandma. I love it. Cancer killed most of my grandparents. I hate it too.

  2. Pingback: Cancer Sucks « As the Farm Turns

Leave a Reply

