Let’s all make a vow…

…to not text while driving.

Have you seen this video?

I’ll be the first to admit that I sometimes text while driving, but from this day forward I refuse. A mindless text message is not worth the danger that I put myself and others into every single time I type one out.

According to the Virginia Tech Transportation Institute:

VTTI’s research showed that text messaging, which had the highest risk of over 20 times worse than driving while not using a phone, also had the longest duration of eyes off road time (4.6 s over a 6‐s interval). This equates to a driver traveling the length of a football field at 55 mph without looking at the roadway.

That’s insane!

Would you all join me and refuse to text message while driving?

6 Comments

Filed under Marla's Ramblings

6 responses to “Let’s all make a vow…

  1. I saw this awhile ago and I still remember the baby. Horrifying. But apparently this commercial was very efefctive in Australia (I think this is where it was first shown).

    NO texting whilst driving, Marla! That baby could have been anyone’s baby – maybe even mine…

    It’s worth thinking about.

  2. Ooooooops. I forgot to log in using my new URL.

    Here it is…. http://www.warsawmommy.com

  3. Being old and stubborn, and resist to certain modern conveniences, I don’t text, PERIOD. Personally, I like the sound of the human voice. So, no worries about the driving part. 🙂

Leave a Reply

