Tranquility

Honestly, one of my favorite things about living in the Oklahoma panhandle is the amazing sunsets that I get to witness most nights. After living in the big city for several years, I cherish these beautiful moments even more.

Last Sunday, I spent several hours on the farm helping Colby get the sprinklers running. (By helping, I mean watching and taking pictures, obviously.) We worked until dark and I got to witness the amazingness that is a beautiful sunset. I forget about my worries- homework, wedding planning, and upcoming exams- and instead marvel at the world that is around me.

Tranquility

“The more tranquil a man becomes, the greater is his success, his influence, his power for good. Calmness of mind is one of the beautiful jewels of wisdom.”
– James Allen.

smIMG_8382sunset

“This is moral perfection: to live each day as though it were the last; to be tranquil, sincere, yet not indifferent to one’s fate.”
– Marcus Aurelius

smIMG_8386sunset

Life on the farm may busy and insane, but at the end of the day, I’m glad for every little second- especially the moments of tranquility and peace. These are the times that I want to remember forever. What moments do you treasure in your life?

4 Comments

Filed under Marla's Ramblings, Photography, The Farm

4 responses to “Tranquility

  1. Moments spent with loved ones.

    Walking down the hall at school and hearing my friends teach the children at our school.

    Birds at the feeder.

    The joy of my dog.

    PS~ I like how you ‘help’. It’s how I help, too.

  2. I agree with Kate, being with loved ones. I always want to capture those moments, but then you lose the authenticity of being in the moment of laughter and love.

  3. Sunrise, sunset, the sound of a running creek, a purring cat, a soft aquiescent murmur from your lover, noise from a schoolyard at recess, the first strong pull from a fish well hooked, a shot well placed at long range, when lying politicians are exposed, hearing, “I love you.” and Mary Poppins singing, “These are a few of my favorite things.” And these are just a few of mine.

  4. These pictures are really pretty. I love them : ) I laughed out loud when you said, ‘by helping, I mean taking pictures’ : ). So cute!

Leave a Reply

